||[Jul. 15th, 2008|03:10 pm]
Some guy called Lap?
Direct Hit (Action card)
The card should have the following text added: “Play: Immediately after the ship has been damaged in a Space Battle in which you participate.”
Didn't come up in the game we played, but the requirement for Space Battles means that PDS fire can't trigger a Direct Hit. Confusingly, "pre-combat" effects that occur after the PDS step DO trigger the card's Play condition due to the clarification on what constitutes combat (see FAQ below).
PDS costs (Race Sheets)
The accurate cost of acquiring a PDS unit is 2 (as written in the rules, but incorrectly stated on the player sheets).
Xxcha ability (Race Sheets)
The correct wording of the first Xxcha Kingdom special ability is: “When executing the Secondary Ability of the Diplomacy Strategy, you may execute the Primary Ability instead.”
"Instead" effect rather than the "as well" effect I think is printed on the card. I think it makes a bad race worse, but whatever.
The 4-Player Game (Rulebook Erratum)
The Action Cards Strategic Flexibility and Strategic Shift should be removed before starting a 4-player game.
No idea what they do, didn't come up in the game.
Combat (Rulebook Erratum)
The term “combat roll” is inclusive. It covers any instance in which you roll a die and compare the result to a unit’s combat value to determine whether or not an enemy casualty has been inflicted. This includes PDS fire and all pre-combat abilities that are compared to a unit’s combat value.
• The Sardakk N’Orr special ability text should read: “You receive +1 on your combat rolls.”
• The Jol-Nar special ability text should read: “You receive -1 on your combat rolls.…”
Effects that add to or modify results during “Space Combat” should be interpreted as during “Space Battles.” Effects that take place during “Space Battles” or “Invasion Combat” specifically make reference only to variables within the Space Battle Sequence and the Invasion Combat Sequence. Thus, if an ability grants you +1 to your dice during Space battles, this bonus is only applied during step 2 of the Space Battles Sequence (“roll combat dice”), and does not affect any other rolls, including pre-combat effects, PDS, bombardment, etc.
Less confusing than the length of errata text would imply.
Q: When playing “Minelayers” when exactly are the hits taken (in relation to other pre-combat abilities and cards), and are the hits taken as casualties immediately?
A: The hits are accumulated as soon as the Action Card is played, i.e., immediately after the movement of the enemy fleet. The hits are taken as casualties during the first “remove casualties” step of the following Space Battle. These hits are not incurred by the moving fleet if, for some reason, no Space Battle takes place after the movement (due to the playing of Action Cards, or other circumstances).
Means if Naalu cruisers lay mines, then decide to use their free retreat, the hits generated by the card never take place. In the game, we played, I think this means that lucnatic's Warsun would have had one round of shooting before being killed by a Direct Hit. Either way, the pro-strat against mines is to put them all on fighters, since they still get to attack once.
Q: If a Dreadnought is damaged by a pre-combat ability, can it be destroyed by a Direct Hit card?
A: Yes, because pre-combat abilities happen during the Space Battle step of an activation. Ships that are damaged by PDS fire (or by space mines in SHATTERED EMPIRE) may not be targeted by “Direct Hit,” since PDS fire does not occur in the Space Battle step.
Further confuses when lucnatic's ships should have been removed. I think the correct procedure is that the mines hit (I'm assuming they read "Play: Immediately before combat" or somesuch), hits are assigned, first round of combat, damage applied, then the Direct Hits kill the units. Doesn't change the game much, all those units would have died, the only difference being that the defenders would have been weakened a little.
General play error
- Exhausted planets do not provide their technology speciality discount when purchasing technologies.
- A Space Dock is actually a planetary/ground unit. When enemies control a system, the dock cannot build, but isn't destroyed until the planet is taken, just like PDS.